Why I have no resolutions

Most of us spend the first 31 days of the year setting goals and resolutions about what we will do for the rest of the year. “This year I am going to stop smoking, lose weight, get fit, stop drinking, spend more time with family and friends, enjoy life more, get out of debt, learn something new, help others and get organized.” Sounds familiar? That’s because these are the top ten resolutions that people make every year!

Then what happens? By the time March rolls around, that’s it. We slip back into familiar rhythms and patterns. Why? Because they are easy and our brains are hard wired to do them.

This year, 2013, I have not set one goal. Sounds crazy? No it’s not. For 2013 I just want to be. I have made no plans, and set no goals.

I have been a Certified Management Accountant for the last 17 years and now I gratefully add that I am an Evidence Based Coach, facilitator and an author – Change or Die the Business Process Improvement Manual.

So this year ,2013, I just want to focus on being the things that I am a Coach, a facilitator and an author. (Note no focus on being an accountant, after 17 years it’s in my DNA). I want to serve my clients and be a great coach. I want to be an excellent facilitator for the groups I am privileged to work with and I have released Change or Die to find its niche.

I have done the ground work, now I have to trust in the Universe, be clear and constant in my thinking and step out in faith.

I have constructed a new powerful narrative that sees me achieving my personal vision while adjusting to unplanned events both awesome and awful.

How did I do it?

I saw this wonderful passage posted by my friend Akousua Dardaine and used it to construct an empowering narrative. I encourage you build your own narrative, use it as a daily affirmation and I would love to hear your narrative and of course I will share mine.

“What would you like to have happen in your life this year? What would you like to do, to accomplish? What good would you like to attract into your life? What particular areas of growth would you like to have happen to you? What blocks, or character defects, would you like to have removed?

What would you like to attain? Little things and big things? Where would you like to go? What would you like to have happen in friendship and love? What would you like to have happen in your family life?

What problems would you like to see solved? What decisions would you like to make? What would you like to happen in your career?

Write it down. Take a piece of paper, a few hours of your time, and write it all down – as an affirmation of you, your life, and your ability to choose. Then let it go. “ Melody Beattie

2 thoughts on “Why I have no resolutions

  1. Hi Maxine,
    Great post, and so inspiring. I’m kind of at the same point in my life. I recently released a novel I’d been working on for many years, put a lot of work into creating an online presence and have finally begun working on a new book. I want this year to simply be about writing. Being creative. In addition, my husband and I are moving. A new house, a new state…and making new friends. With all that a move entails, I think focusing on my writing is enough of a personal goal.

  2. Lorijo,
    Congratulations on all your successes. Best of luck with the new move and housing. Packing up unearths memories (mainly good ones – since those are the momentos that we keep) and evokes sadness when we decide that we can’t take everything. I love the idea of focusing on writing. That for me would be enough (as well)

Leave a Reply

