To be is not to plan

I was asked “What does it mean to be?” “How is being different from having a goal?” I am still figuring it out and uncertain if I can covey what I mean.

Whenever I wanted to achieve something I set a goal, “I am going to be a coach, I am going to be a facilitator, I am going to write a book,” then I got on the net, found a program, did some research and enrolled in a program. With the book, I changed my schedule so that every evening, at the same time after my day-job I sat and wrote.

Thought, followed by action, followed by execution. Willful mind followed by willful action, no distractions, keep the focus. Say what the goal will bring to your life – that’s how to get things done.

This year I am reading for the Certified Professional Facilitator (CPF) designation, Associate Certified Coach (ICF certification) and I am going to develop training programs based on the book Change or Die. Sounds like a goal. Not really

Unlike previous years, I am not compelled or driven to do these things. They are not imperative to my success. I do them, not to make a difference to my career options or my income generation. I do them in the spirit that a gift has been granted to me and I need to build on these gifts, multiply them and send them back out into the world.

I feel at ease in doing the things that I want to, and I accept that I may not achieve them. I accept that life may have other plans for me and I am embracing flexibility and uncertainty, knowing and trusting that whatever happens, in any given moment, I am exactly where I am supposed to be.

It feels right to be a coach and help people to get to where they want to be. It feels right to facilitate group decisions; it feels right to honor the requests that were made by readers of the book. I am doing these things in full unison with the world and the people around me. These things will resonate with whom and where they need to, and have little to do with me.

I now accept and understand the words attributed to Mother (now Saint) Theresa.

May today there be peace within.
May you trust God that you are exactly where you are meant to be.
May you not forget the infinite possibilities that are born of faith.
May you use those gifts that you have received, and pass on the love that has been given to you.
May you be confident knowing you are a child of God.
Let this presence settle into your bones, and allow your soul the freedom to sing, dance, praise and love.
It is there for each and every one of us.

3 thoughts on “To be is not to plan

Leave a Reply

