An ode to AND

I work a full time demanding job and I write books.  That is the life that I have created and that is the life that I want.  And I have a social life.  I like to go out and chat with friends for countless hours, look at movies and I have to maintain an exercise schedule that keeps me in relative good health so that I can do all of the above.

People say how do you do it? How do you write a book and work full time?  The answer is that I love the word AND.  We learned that AND is a conjunction that joins two sentences together.  It also joins thoughts, dreams, realities and fears. 

I have taken the word BUT out of my vocabulary and replaced it with AND.  We use BUT to express concerns and to tell ourselves that there are limiting factors to getting to what we want.  “I want to go back to school but my kids are young.”  We have just negated the fact that we want to go back to school.  We believe that having young kids makes it impossible to return to school.  There is no solution, the problem trumps the desire.  But strips away our power.

“I want to go back to schools and my kids are young.” And sets up the possibility.  The fact that the kids are young becomes one more variable in the going back to school equation and not a stop sign. Now we are thinking about possibility.  “Hmm how do I get the kids taken care of while I get to school”.

So that is my story. I embrace AND I leave out the Buts.  I am an author and I am working on my second book, and I work a full time job with heavy responsibilities and I have a life.

2 thoughts on “An ode to AND

  1. Simply put. Powerfully worded. An excellent, thought-provoking take on a familiar concept that reminds us why “but” tends to be dragging justifications and excuses along behind it – up hill!

Leave a Reply

