Decisions and change

I make tough decisions.  It does not mean that I do not feel the pain of the decision.  I hurt, I feel pain and I suffer from the fall out.  I make the decisions that no one else wants to make even though the need for it is staring us all in the face.

I make decisions based on what I know and what has happened.     I look at the past, and ask myself if this is the future that I want.

I make decisions based on the future state that I want. I extrapolate the past to establish possible future outcomes as the basis of the decisions.  If the current situation does not lead to a future that I want then then I need to change the present. I weigh the outcomes and take the path that leads me closest to the future that I want.

When my decisions involve other people I brace myself for the fall out and the pain that will follow.   Volunteering the change does not make me immune to the effects.  I am human; as human as you.

I know that pain is temporary.  I know that pain is part of the change process and I accept this.  To change I have to grow, to grow I have to stretch, to stretch brings pain.  I reject the status quo and its comfort  as I set new sights.  There are so many unknown variables that I am scared.  What If I am wrong?  What if it does not get better? What if I made the wrong choice? 

And I know that the “what ifs” serve no purpose because I have no choice.  I have to make a new decision because the present will not get me to the desired future.  I have to make a change. 

Leave a Reply

