On to Boring, Blog 61

It is good to be home and I hope to be here for at least three months before I travel again.

For the next three months, I want to do nothing but follow my routine. I don’t want to think, I want to operate on automatic pilot and go through through the motions.  I want to be present every day and just enjoy whatever is in front of me.  I want no adventure, I am signing up for boring, for mundane and for predictable.

The next three months are my exhalation months, during which I start nothing new. I will focus on what is in front of me and take my involvement to new intensities.  I am shrinking the boundaries of my operations so that my focus becomes more targeted and my energy will not be dissipated.  This is the time of less, so that more can be done.

How does that translate to a daily life?

On the job, I will start no new projects.  I am focussing on completion of the ones that have started, ensuring that before the end of the year there are some achievements that can be identified for each.  These wins must be obvious to all and operational by the end of the year.

In my exercise routine I will go harder.  No new routine, no new classes.  Just doing the regular routine with more intensity, more deliberation, more regularly and with more focus.

In my social life, I want to see all my friends and socialize with each of them in a way that is only about us in that moment.  My intention is to cement my relationships and celebrate each one.

With my book, Lead Your Team To Win, there is nothing for me to do. I have made all the plans so now I have to follow where the book leads and to be where ever I am called.

I am looking forward to the mundane and the boring life for the next three months.  A life of routine, regularity and predictability.

What is boring in your life? How can you use it to rest?

Leave a Reply

