Dreams – Blog 79

Every morning, when we were kids, my sister regaled us with fantastic tales of what happened in her dreams. Her dreams were in full technicolour, full of vibrancy, adventure and romance.  Huge battles were fought and won; she saved the world (many times) from mythical creatures or alien invasions. She was always the hero, the one with the big idea, or the puzzle solver who took charge of everything.

She was Joseph of the multi coloured coat and I was as jealous as his brothers of her glorious tales.  Even as I enjoyed listening to her, I resented giving her my attention because I never dreamt.

Even now when I dream I still get excited by the rarity of the event. I extract  every detail of the dream, replaying it frame by frame as I examine for coded messages that my subconscious may be sending to me.
This week I had two dreams that were standalone events. They were not part of a longer sequence, the images just popped up and remained in my head.

In the first dream, I put my hand to my mouth and my tooth fell out.  In the second, I noticed ants on the living room floor.  On further examination, I realised that it was a long line of ants marching from the external patio into the house.

These were such random images that I was compelled to look up the meaning of the dreams and  found the below.

As a general rule, teeth falling out in dreams symbolize transition times. This type of dream echoes the emotional disturbances you may be experiencing as you or your environment is going through a period of change.Your interpretation may focus on a few negative meanings, such as insecurity or fear of loss. Keep in mind that this symbol also has positive meanings, including a new direction in life and renewal.

To see ants in your dream signify your general dissatisfaction in your daily life. You are feeling neglected and insignificant. Or petty things will annoy you throughout the following day. The dream may also be a metaphor on feeling antsy or restless. Ants also symbolize hard work, diligence, cooperation and industry. Increase business activities are expected. On a less positive note, ants symbolize social conformity and mass action. In this regard, you may feel that your life is too structured and orderly. According to the biblical interpretations, ants symbolize diligence concerning the things of God. Despite its small size, the ant lays up substance during times of plenty. 

My first thoughts are that these dreams are not far off from the state I have been existing in for 2014.  I am highly aware that I am in a state of flux and I have no idea where, or how or when it will end.

For now I will leave the dreams and their interpretations at the back of my mind as I stay in heightened awareness of how my life plays out.

What dreams have you had recently?  What are they telling you about yourself?

Leave a Reply

