Sunday Long Runs

We decided that we will do a long run, anywhere between 6 to 8 miles, on Sundays. We have a predetermined meeting point and according to how we feel we have alternate routes to complete the last 3 miles. We contact each other just before we leave home and meet at the predetermined spot.
This plan has been working like clock work. I get there about two to five minutes before my running mate and stretch a bit before she meets me. When she meets me, we exchange pleasantries, walk for a bit then we start to run. We run together, sometimes she leads, other times I do, but we more or less stay together throughout the run.
Today, I left home as planned and got to the meeting point. I waited the duration of two songs and knew that this was too long. I toyed with the idea of going home, but that would not serve my purpose of getting a long run in. Then, I decided to change the route and run in the direction of my friend’s house. I rationalized that if she was late I would meet her on the way. That did not happen.
As I reached the mid point of my run, I heard someone running towards me. There she was, my running companion. She explained that she also waited 10 minutes at the meeting place and then left. She intimated that she was much later than I and I explained that I changed the route hoping to meet her on the way. She then explained the folly of my plan since she overnighted at the hotel for the retreat, which was in the opposite direction of her house. We said goodbye and ran our separate ways.
As I ran off, I thought about how simply we miscommunicated even though we had the same agenda. I also thought about how one decision changed the course of our history. I changed the route, and did not meet up with her.
My thoughts moved on to what and how we communicate. My running partner told me that her retreat was at an hotel this weekend. I did not ask if she was sleeping over nor did she tell me that she was sleeping over. That one piece of information would have allowed us to change the meeting place and make different arrangements for our Sunday run.
This reminded me about the dubious nature of assumptions, the beauty of asking the right question, the magic of shared information and how these all contribute to powerful decision making.

Leave a Reply

