Runner’s Envy

This evening’s drive home was an annoying experience. I have never noticed how many people take an evening run. From every direction I was confronted by sneakered folks running along the streets and green areas. There were three grey headed people, a couple cutely running together, and the trios, quartets and larger groups of runners.
As I drove past them my mood got getting fouler and fouler. I was mad and obviously envious. Why are they running and I cannot? Why do they get to run? Why am I the injured party?
As I named the source of my ill mood, I remembered the adage that envy signals that we want what the other person has.
I know that when I am envious of someone’s achievements, possessions or attributes I have a few choices. I either accept that I don’t or won’t have it and let it go, or do something to get what I want or do nothing and stay envious.
I realized this evening that though I made contact with the MRI center I have not scheduled an appointment for the MRI. I have been stalling. That changes tomorrow. As soon as that office opens tomorrow morning I will confirm an appointment before the end of the year. Seeing the runners today told me that it is time to start my healing process so that by March 2015 I can be back out running with all the other runners.
Today my envy motivated me to action.

What are you envious about? What are you going to do about it?

Leave a Reply

