In appreciation

This past week I received the gift of appreciation. I received an outpouring of love, gratitude and kindness, in emails, cards, spoken words, hugs and kisses. It seemed that I had given something to a number of people and they in turn multiplied it and gave it back to me.
Appreciation felt weird at first. When it was first expressed, I thought,“Okay, this maybe a bit of an overreaction? Did it really mean that much to you.”
As others expressed the same sentiment I grew a little doubtful, “When did this happen? Did I really make an impact?”
It took a while for me to accept that I was being appreciated. People observed or experienced me, placed a value on the interaction, and were now telling me that it was positive and were thanking me for the experience.
As I got accustomed to the idea, I noted the feelings and the sensations in my body. My body temperature increased and my heartbeat was accelerated. My head often felt light. Most times I was grinning from ear to ear, but at times I was close to tears.
I felt happy to receive the appreciation and sad that I was leaving it behind. I was often overwhelmed by the outpouring since it was a lot to receive.
I also felt proud that my efforts were recognised and that for some people I made a difference. It emboldens me to intervene more. It gives me permission to take more risks and it tells me to have more compassion and confirms my commitment to keep others safe.
It was beautiful to be appreciated and the experience left me thinking,”How do I pass on the warmth that I felt to others? How do I tell others that I see them or appreciate them or value them?”
I am now forever conscious and deliberate in appreciating people. “Thank You” is now more significant, praising an effort, supporting failure, congratulating success and celebrating each small moment is now paramount.
My colleagues received my attributes and gave them back to me in warmth. I came in at one value and I leave with a higher and greater value.
I received the gift of appreciation and now I am passing it on.
Thanks to all. I value you, I appreciate you, I am grateful to you and I am aware of you.

Appreciate : to be grateful or thankful for, to value or regard highly; place a high estimate on, to be fully conscious of; be aware of; detect, to raise in value.

Leave a Reply

