A Platter of its Choice

A friend asked me “What are your plans?”
I explained to him that I no longer have plans.
When I was younger and I needed to make sense of the big world, I carefully made plans and executed them. This was my way of controlling what was around me to get what I needed.
Now, goal setting bores me. I am not here to make sense of the world, but to experience it. I know now that “controlling” the world is a false belief that keeps me in a small box, mitigating risk and protecting myself.
I am limited by what I have learnt, my fears and my experiences. When I see a table, I don’t see the tent, or the ship or the runway for planes that the fearless eyes of a child can see. Through these myopic lens, I make mundane, uncreative and limited plans. When I don’t plan I see beyond the immediate and obvious and enter the realm of the impossible.
The things that I want, are so important to me that I refuse to plan for them. Planning is an old and obsolete tool, that no longer serves me. I want what I want on a grander scale than I can imagine, I want them to be improbable and impossible when they emerge and I want to embrace them with fascination when they appear.
I don’t know what I don’t know. I am human and limited in my thoughts. I focus on WHAT I want, surrender my desires to a higher power and wait for the magic of the universe to serve them up on a platter of its choice.

Leave a Reply

