Faith in Selma

I watched the movie Selma today and I was reminded of the importance of having impossible dreams. This movie depicts the 1965 struggle of the U.S. Civil Rights movement for voting equality for the African American.
As I watched the movie I saw that Dr. Martin Luther King and the men and women who supported him were imperfectly perfect, just like me. Yet unlike me they were very brave, extremely courageous and believed in the impossible.
As I watched the movie I wondered,
“What would make someone believe that a few could change history?
“What would make someone risk his/her life for something they believed in?”
“What would make someone despite their fear act fearlessly?”
The answer for me is faith – faith in something stronger than humans, in something more inspiring than history, in something more powerful than a gun and something more formidable than a US President.
As I always do, when I look at someone I admire I look at myself in the mirror.
I am not brave, because I do not have faith.
I am not fearless, because I do not have faith
At times I doubt the impossible, because I do not have faith.
Today I am reminded of the power of faith.
Today I am reminded that faith will work to give me what I want.
Today I am reminded that there is magic afoot when I have faith.
Today I am reminded that I am brave and fearless and that I will achieve the impossible once I have faith.

What can you do if you have faith?

The three Selma to Montgomery marches in 1965 were part of the Voting Rights Movement underway in Selma, Alabama. By highlighting racial injustice in the South, they contributed to passage that year of the Voting Rights Act, a landmark federal achievement of the 1960s American Civil Rights Movement. Activists publicized the three protest marches to walk the 54-mile (87 km) highway from Selma to the Alabama state capital of Montgomery as showing the desire of African-American citizens to exercise their constitutional right to vote, in defiance of segregationist repression. “Wikipedia”

Leave a Reply

