Morgen Bailey’s Author Spotlight 407 – Maxine Attong

Morgen Bailey’s 407th Author Spotlight, features business motivator and non-fiction author Maxine Attong. And now from the author herself:

Writing makes my heart sing. When my keys tap the words from the keyboard I feel in tune with the world and everything seems right. The ability to write is something that I treasure because for many years I lost it (the ability to write). As a kid the stories and poems that I wrote provided me with the sanctity to express the things that I could not say – it was my space to be seen and heard. When I had to choose a career path I decided to read for a B.Sc. Accounting so that I could change my economic circumstances. After my first year of University I came home and burnt every one of my written pieces. It seemed that the writing could not coexist with the numbers and part of me felt betrayed. I burnt the writings to shut up the voices that questioned my professional choice and until I left my accounting job, I never wrote again.

I know what it is like to have loved and lost, I know how beautiful it is to regain a long lost love. My writing is my heart song, that provides me with the balance I need to keep going. It was a long and at times painful journey back to it. With this in mind I proudly celebrate my two books. They are a homecoming, back to a sacred part of myself. Now I write daily in my journals and generate blogs at least twice a week. This keeps me sane.

For now my writing is in the business realm. I see that I am growing more confident as a writer and marvel how different my second book – Lead Your Team To Win – is from my first book Change or Die – The Business Process Improvement Manual. I consider Change or Die my head book since it deals with technical application of a theory of mine and Lead Your Team to Win as my heart book. That book has so much of me in it, my thoughts and my feelings that I think of it as heralding my return to writing and to an honesty that I neglected when I became an accountant professional.

It is great to be back and I am enjoying rediscovering writing and all the emotions that go with it. I am learning to listen to my heart again and to think less and trust that the stories will appear. I look forward to the day when I am brave enough to craft fiction
See the entire spotlight at:

http://http://https://morgenbailey.wordpress.com/2015/05/02/author-spotlight-no-407-non-fiction-author-maxine-attong/

Leave a Reply

