Disgusted by the dentist

I noted the furor over the death of a lion and I wondered (beyond the obvious) what’s behind the rage.
When I get mad, I know that my anger is not always about the thing in front of me. Sometimes the anger is an expression of my powerlessness to change something or it’s because I am reminded that I may not always make a difference. Sometimes the anger masks the fear that I have in putting my neck out, of speaking up or standing up and so I rage against my silence. Sometimes the anger reflects my shame.
What does the death of the lion remind you of? What are the unspoken themes that bleed from you on the lion’s death? Are you mad because of the inequality in our societies? Are you raging because different rules apply and that rules can be bent? Are you angry because cash equals access? Are you annoyed because you have witnessed how some first world residents behave in third world countries?
Injustice is injustice, unfair treatment is unfair treatment and death is death. What makes us scream injustice on the death of a lion, while we justify the death of a human? What makes us call a bow and arrow inhumane yet we never agree that shooting an unarmed human is merciless? Why did we immediately vilify the lion slayer even as we defend killers of humans? Why do we mourn for the pride yet shed no tears for the families that have innocently lost their men?
What are you not saying?
What’s really behind your disgust with the dentist?

Leave a Reply

