Quoted in Huffington Post

I was recently quoted in an article on Huffington Post- link at the bottom of blog. It was a heady moment, I admit, to see my name on a well recognized website. Even cooler, was the outpouring of congratulations that I received from people within my network who seemed equally excited about my being quoted in Huffington Post.
But, guess what? The morning after I rolled out of bed, and went to work. I don’t know if the people with whom I work with consider being quoted in Huffington an achievement, since it’s not what I get paid for. It’s just one of those things and the reality of my life. I work at an organization, and I am an author.
I have a dual life, and I hold each part in equal esteem, loving each part equally.
I love my job, working with people, strategizing about the future while contributing to the organization’s goals. I love to dream up ideas for new books, write articles and promote my book.
I live both realities; I hold them both in balance and give each the time and energy needed to succeed. There is no competition between the two, when I am doing one I do not focus on the other. I live in the moment of whichever I am doing, fully present and totally aware. I am not juggling, there are no balls in the air, I hold both parts firmly, one in each hand.
There is no conflict because each is an equally important and integral part of me. When I give up one for the other my quality of my life is not the same and I suffer.
I have one foot planted in either world. My stance is wide. I am balanced, anchored by both my worlds.
What is your anchor?

See the article below:
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/savvy-/set-yourself-up-for-a-big-promotion-in-the-first-90-days-of-your-new-job_b_7941748.html

Maxine Attong is the author of two business books – Change or Die – The Business Process Improvement Manual and Lead your Team to Win. She is a speaker, coach, Organisational Development consultant and of course an accountant.

Leave a Reply

