Missing little things

The number keys on my laptop have not been working for the last month. As a result, I have not been writing much. It’s annoying when I want to write a date, I press the keys then I remember that the number keys don’t work. No exclamation marks, no hash tag, no percentage, no dollar sign, no brackets, just pure letters, commas and full stop.
I never noticed before that I needed the number keys, and how much thinking is required when they are not functional.
Naturally my mind wanders to all the little things in my life that I take for granted or don’t pay particular attention to or for which I am not overtly grateful. Then I move to think of the people who are behind the scenes keeping the wheels turning, doing their part so that I can function comfortably. Just as I now notice how much I need the number keys, I am now paying attention to all the things and people that in no small part contribute to my life.

What are the little things that you can’t live without? Who contributes to your quality of life?
Maxine Attong is the author of two business books – Change or Die – The Business Process Improvement Manual and Lead your Team to Win. She is a speaker, coach, Organisational Development consultant and of course an accountant.

 

One thought on “Missing little things

  1. Hey Maxine! For physical things, I think electricity and water at the press of the button or turn of the tap will be sorely missed! At least for a little while 🙂

Leave a Reply

