What Would Jesus Do?

I was taken aback the first time I heard it, “I want to be like Jesus.”

“What do you mean?” I asked.  She said, “I want to love my neighbor, and turn the other cheek.”  As a good coach I pressed,”Tell me more.”

My client went on to explain that the reason that she puts others first, works long hours, gave more than she got, took less than she deserved, never quarreled, never argued, never stood up for herself, never set boundaries for others and accepted all that she got was because she made a deliberate choice.  In her quest to be more like Jesus she often put others first and saw about herself last.

I confessed to her that I did not know the bible so she would have to help me out. I asked, “What’s the story with him throwing over tables in the temple?” She corrected me and explained the story to me. “What’s the story about him arguing with some elders, when he was a kid?” She looked at me inquisitively and shared the story. “What’s the story about him and the woman who was being stoned?” She nodded patiently and told that story as well.

“What was Jesus doing in those stories?”, I asked. She sighed heavily.  We sat in silence  until she softly replied, “He was standing up for what he believed in, he was setting boundaries and he was saying No.”

“What do you think?” I asked.  She smiled and answered, “He was something else.”

As I made my session notes I thought how we can see one side of a story and make an entire belief system around it. I reflected on the stories that I hold on to, the things that I believe in and committed to look at the other side of them. Maybe I could see more than I see and unveil a whole new perspective.

What do your stories tell you?

Maxine Attong is the author of two business books – Change or Die – The Business Process Improvement Manual and Lead your Team to Win. She is a Keynote Speaker,  Executive Coach, Organisational Development consultant and of course an Accountant.

2 thoughts on “What Would Jesus Do?

Leave a Reply

