Girls Rock

I asked my niece, “What do you want to do today?”

She answered, “I had a list of ten things, but I did not write them down, so now I only remember three. 1) Go for ice-cream ( we both love ice-cream), 2) Go to the park 3) Go to Fun City”

I replied, “Yes to ice-cream, its raining too heavily for the park and how about I-Jump instead of Fun City.”

She agreed and we left the house.  Being the wonderful aunt that I am, I neglected to pack an umbrella. When we got to I-Jump, the rain was still heavy and we could not leave the car.  My niece tried to negotiate getting out in the rain, and I explained that her mother will kill me for being irresponsible.  We sat in the car for about 10 minutes and then I said, “Let’s return home for the umbrella.” We returned home, picked up the umbrella and went back to I-Jump.

When we got to the play area we were informed that we needed socks, and they were out of stock.  My niece got very quiet.  I offered that we could go to the mall and get socks.  She dragged her feet on the way to the car and when we got into the car she spoke up.“I do not want to go to Ijump.”

“Why?”

She responded” We came before and couldn’t get in and then we came again and we still can’t get in. I don’t want to go again.”

I understood how she felt. There were many times that I had my heart set on doing something only to be faced with obstacles and challenges that seemed to thwart every move that I made. I understand that for a 5 year old this disappointment would seem larger than life.

I said to her. “ Do you want to have fun at I-Jump”

“Yes,” she replied.

“OK, don’t let this get in the way of you having fun. If you want to go to I-Jump don’t let rain or socks stop you from getting to I-Jump. If we have to go back 5 times, you are going to get to I-Jump.”

She sat quietly, while we drove to the mall and became alive when it was time to select socks.

As we made our way back to I-Jump she piped up, “Auntie, you know what? We are going to I-Jump. They can’t keep us down because Girls Rock.  Nothing can stop us from doing what we want to do because girls rule.”

What do you do when obstacles are in your way? Do you rock?

One thought on “Girls Rock

  1. I know that disappointed feeling oh to well, however I usually let it get to me and sometimes I actually give up. But I now learnt a lesson from a 5 year old ( out of the mouth of babes …) so from now on I could have a new attitude to seeming obstacles – Girls Rock! That’s my new slogan when dealing with challenges.
    From now on “I ROCK”.

Leave a Reply

