Managing change

I’m pretty good at managing change. I get excited by the prospects of it, I am enthused by the answers to “What if?”, and generally I operate in a state of awe.

There are spells of time when I feel overwhelmed. The anxiety of not knowing coupled with the uncertainty of it all makes me wish for a crystal ball. I throw pity parties, ask “Why me?” and I wallow in self doubt.

Most times it’s OK to sit with these dark and uncomfortable feelings since it’s important to process the feelings. However, when I admit that I’m being self indulgent then I know it’s time to answer the 15 questions.

As I’m dealing with major change in my life I have had to answer the 15 questions ( more than once).  The answers provide a reality check, remind me of the possibilities and help me to manage the change which I cannot stop or control.

  1. How do I keep myself going in this time of change?
  2. What routine can I stick to?
  3. How do I center myself when stuff hits the fan?
  4. What role does my personal vision play at this time of change?
  5. What quality of life do I want when the dust settles?
  6. What is my catastrophic fantasy ( about the change)?
  7. Who can assist me now?
  8. What attitudes do I need to change to get through this?
  9. How can I maintain focus?
  10. What is the role of my beliefs at this time?
  11. How do I keep it all going when my beliefs are challenged?
  12. What dreams can be fulfilled (after the change) that can’t be fulfilled now?
  13. What am I holding on to ( that prevents the change from being an opportunity)?
  14. What do I need to let go of (to embrace the change)?
  15. What will be my joy in this time of change?

Which question resonates with you? How will it assist you in your time of change?

Leave a Reply

